WebCitz Blog

Phishing Attempt from Emails Claiming Release of Magento SUPEE-1738 Patch

Please do not open any attachments coming from “Magento Security” that claim you need to open a “.doc” file to obtain a SUPEE-1738 security patch for your Magento EE/CE 1.x & 2.x storefronts.

Here is an example of the phishing email:


May 23, 2017

Magento Enterprise Edition and Community Edition 1.x and 2.x contains
SQL-Injection in product selection Magento 1.x and Magento 2.x versions,
prevent unauthorized users access to administrator account.

Attached document contains SQL-Injection fixing instructions.

Malicious Email Warning

WebCitz has been receiving numerous reports from customers that eNom, Inc. has suspended their domain name for spam and abuse violations. Please do not click on the links contained within these types of email messages. You can typically check the validity of such emails by hovering your mouse cursor over the links to see if any point to third party websites that have nothing to do with the company stated in the email message. There is a copy of an email listed below with personal information replaced with X characters.

Dear Sir/Madam,

The following domain names have been suspended for violation of the ENOM, INC. Abuse Policy:

Registrar: ENOM, INC.
Registrant Name: XXXXX XXXXX

Multiple warnings were sent by ENOM, INC. Spam and Abuse Department to give you an opportunity to address the complaints we have received.

We did not receive a reply from you to these email warnings so we then attempted to contact you via telephone.

We had no choice but to suspend your domain name when you did not respond to our attempts to contact you.

Click here and download a copy of complaints we have received.

Please contact us by email at mailto:abuse@enom.com for additional information regarding this notification.

Spam and Abuse Department
Abuse Department Hotline: 480-124-0101

“Domain Services” Scam Email

Please be advised that email messages similar to the one found below are being sent out to domain name holders in an attempt to collect money for questionable search engine optimization services. The email message appears to lack any merit or need for attention. In fact, the first sentence of the disclaimer at the bottom of the email tells you that the company isn’t liable to hold up any part of it. If you receive such an email, respond at your own risk. If you are curious, we were the intended recipient of this message.

Click the image below to view a sample of the email message that was sent to us:
Domain Services Scam

China Domain Name Registration Center

Please be advised that email messages similar to the one found below are being sent out to domain name holders. It appears to lack any merit or need for attention. If you receive such an email, respond at your own risk.

Dear Manager:

This email is from China domain name registration center, which mainly deal with the domain name registration and dispute internationally in China and Asia.

OnĀ April 25th 2011, We received HAITONGĀ  company’s application that they are registering the name ” yourdomainname ” as their Internet Keyword and ” yourdomainname.cn ” , ” yourdomainname.com.cn ” , ” yourdomainname.asia “domain names etc.., It is China and ASIA domain names. But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check. According to the principle in China, your company is the owner of the trademark, In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!

Best regards,